top of page

Australian Capital Territory

POP: 429,834 people

AREA: 2,358 km²

GPS: 35.4735° S, 149.0124° E (Capital of Canberra)

CUR: Australian Dollar

Canberra is the capital city of Australia. Founded following the federation of the colonies of Australia as the seat of government for the new nation, it is Australia's largest inland city and the eighth-largest city overall. 


The Australian Capital Territory houses Canberra, Australia’s capital, built between Sydney and Melbourne in the early 20th century. The federal district’s forest, farmland and nature reserves earn Canberra its nickname, the "Bush Capital.” The city's focal point is Lake Burley Griffin, filled with sailboats and kayaks. On opposite shores are the grand Australian War Memorial and the massive, strikingly modern Parliament House.

bottom of page