top of page



COUNTRIES: 54 + 9 territories

GPS: 8.7832° S, 34.5085° E

AREA: 30.37 million km²

Africa is the world's second largest and second most-populous continent. At about 30.3 million km² including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth's total surface area and 20% of its total land area.  


With 1.2 billion people as of 2016, it accounts for about 16% of the world's human population.


The continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, both the Suez Canal and the Red Sea along the Sinai Peninsula to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast and the Atlantic Ocean to the west.  


The continent includes Madagascar

and various archipelagos. It contains 54 fully recognised sovereign states 

(countries), nine territories and two 

de facto independent states with limited or no recognition. The majority of the continent and its countries are in the Northern Hemisphere, with a substantial portion and number of countries in the Southern Hemisphere.

bottom of page