top of page


POP: 25,489,200 people

AREA: 7,692,024 km²

GPS: 35°18′29″S149°07′28″E (Capital of Canberra)

CUR: Australian Dollar

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world's sixth-largest country by total area.

Australia is divided into six main state, two internal territories and seven other external territories including Cocos Islands and Australian Antarctic Territory.  


The biggest city is Sydney in New South Wales with about 8 million people, followed by Melbourne in Victoria with about 6.5 million people, Brisbane in Queensland (5 million) , Perth in Western Australia (2.6 million), Adelaide in South Australia (1.7 million), Hobart in Tasmania (a seperate island state located to the south of Melbourne, Victoria with around 500,000 people) and then Canberra (the nation's capital with 425,000 people) located in the Australian Capital Territory and Darwin in Northern Territory (245,000). 

Most international flights come in to the eastern seaboard of Australia landing in Sydney, Melbourne or Brisbane, however Perth on the western seaboard has also become an entrance hub to Australia with 19 hour long haul flights from the UK with no stops run by Qantas on their Boeing 787-9 Dreamliners.

bottom of page