top of page




AREA: 8,525,989 km²

Oceania is a common term used for considers the smaller landmasses on the Pacific Ocean, primarily Australia, New Zealand, and Papua New Guinea.

It also includes the three island regions of Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia (including the US state of Hawaii).

Oceania can be divided into three island groups, where each group is made of different materials: continental islands, high islands, and low islands.

Geologically, Australia is one of the seven continents of the world and the term is very much used in physical geography. Australia includes the islands of Australia, New Guinea, Tasmania, Seram and a number of others.

bottom of page